Katlin Mooneyham DeWitt, Virginia Department of Forestry

VAFHP's mission is to promote forest health education primarily by arranging an annual conference where we hear the latest on emerging pests, existing issues and other related forest ecology and forest health topics.

Our conference offers:

  • Commercial pesticide applicators’ license recertification (multiple states)

  • International Society of Arboriculture (ISA) CEUs

  • Society of American Foresters (SAF) CFEs


Attendees include local, state and federal officials, independent contractors, consultants, horticulture and forest industry representatives and students. We encourage anyone interested in the ecology of the Mid-Atlantic to participate. VAFHP is committed to developing and providing education and training for natural resource professionals.

Every year a group of individuals in the forest health industry coordinates the conference details.  The current group of steering committee members is listed below.


Steering Committee Members

2021-2022 Steering Committee


Vice President


Ian Treggett, Stafford County Gypsy Moth Program

Matthew Brinckman: Bartlett Tree Experts


Mailing address:

P.O. Box 5053

Charlottesville, VA 22905


Chris Fields Johnson, The Davey Tree Expert Company